Stryper Albums Ranked

Stryper is an American Christian metal band from Orange County, California. The group’s lineup consists of Michael Sweet (lead vocals, guitar), Oz Fox (guitar), Perry Richardson (bass guitar), and Robert Sweet (drums). Formed in 1983 as Roxx Regime, the band soon changed their musical message to reflect their Christian beliefs, and the band’s name was also changed to Stryper. They went on to become the first overtly Christian heavy metal band to gain acceptance in the mainstream. In 1983, they signed with major label Enigma Records and released their debut album The Yellow and Black Attack. In the mid-1980s, Stryper enjoyed their most successful period beginning with the release of To Hell with the Devil, which achieved platinum sales status. Stryper went on to release two more gold albums before disbanding in 1993. In 2003, Stryper came out of retirement for a reunion tour and subsequently signed a multi-album contract with Big3 Records in 2005. In 2013, they signed a multi-album deal with Frontiers Records, and have released Second Coming, which includes 14 re-recorded songs from their first three albums and an album, No More Hell to Pay, released on November 5, 2013, Fallen on October 16, 2015, and God Damn Evil on April 25, 2018, and Even the Devil Believes on September 4, 2020. Here are all of Stryper albums ranked.

If you want to hear a true hard rock music. Click below and listen to Stryper’s songs!

10. Second Coming (2013)

“Stryper revamp some of their very first hits and reaffirm why they are the fathers of Christian Heavy Metal. The drums are heavier, the guitars are blazing, and the vocals soar just as high as Michael Sweet’s youth only with a heartier maturity.”

9. Against The Law (1990)

“There is a musical intensity on this album that, to this listener, has only been matched by the band again in recent years, beginning with 2011’s The Covering and continuing with subsequent albums. Robert lays the hammer down on the drums on Against the Law; Oz and Michael shred those lead guitar solos like nobody’s business, and Tim Gaines’ bass work punches through with brilliant execution. The back-to-basics production approach also serves this album very well: The instrumentation has a chance to be heard in each respective role; there is no glossy-wall-of-sound burying said instrumentation in the mix. For the most part, this is raw rock and roll.”

8. 7 Weeks: Live In America, 2003 (2004)

“”7 Weeks, Live In America” captures just some of the many highlights from Stryper’s 2003 reunion tour. All feature the band’s original line-up of vocalist Michael Sweet, his brother Robert Sweet on drums, guitarist Oz Fox and bassist Tim Gaines. The band sounds as exciting and vibrant as they did back in their ’80s heyday. The live album includes all the classics including “Makes Me Wanna Sing”, “Calling On You”, “Free”, “Soldiers Under Command”, “Reach Out”, “Honestly” and “To Hell With The Devil”. Also included is their rarely performed version of the holiday standard “Winter Wonderland” (it was the holiday season when this CD was recorded) and a heartfelt closing prayer from Michael Sweet.”

See more: Whitesnake Albums Ranked

7. Murder By Pride (2009)

” Murder By Pride reminds me of the glory days of the mid 80s when they released Soldiers Under Command & To Hell With The Devil. They were at the top of their game. However Murder By Pride is a lot better. It really is incredible how good this is. This is what Heavy Metal should sound like . YES THIS !!!. What drives these songs is the fantastic guitars and the immaculate vocals of Michael Sweet. He really sings his heart out !!”

6. In God We Trust (1988)

“The best part is the uplifting message you get without being sappy or uncool. Non-Christian rockers may not be used to the name of Jesus being used in a song (interesting how Satan may be mentioned and no one has a problem with that) These are written with God in mind and still kicks out incredible riffs and sounds made famous during the “glam” age of the rock. This is definitely a “hair” band of the ’80s with powerful presents that you can compare to “Poison, Cinderella, and the like”. Lead singer hits high notes many will not try. If you like this – you must get the “Soldiers Under Command” album which does all this and showcases more dirty guitar with monster layering I would compare to “Metallica”

5. Live At The Whisky (2014)

“This is a really raw live recording in a smaller and intimate setting at the Whisky. What you will hear and see is the ever increasing skill level of all 4 original members of this band. If you’ve never seen them live, this is your chance to hear what other Stryper fans have been saying for years. If you have any doubt as to whether Stryper is a viable and good Metal band, you need to get this”

See more: Kix Albums Ranked

4. No More Hell To Pay (2013)

“The title track has all the feel of a song from the one of their original albums, only it is better. The halting transitions are gone. The music flows more easily than it ever did back in the 80s. Yet, the power is all still there. It is interesting to note, and this song especially highlights it, that Michael Sweet’s voice seems to have lost nothing with age, even though he never seems to hold anything back on any of these songs.”

3. The Covering (2011)

“From the very first notes of the very first track of Stryper’s latest album, “The Covering”, you know you are in for something special. The first full length studio release to feature the original four members of the band – Michael, Robert, Oz, and Timothy – since 1990’s “Against the Law”; “The Covering” erupts from your speakers, grabs you by the neck, and takes you on a no-holds-barred exploration of `70s and early 80’s rock. But this isn’t just a random collection of cover tunes. If you listen closely, you can hear the threads in these songs that run through Stryper’s own music. It’s a roadmap of how Stryper became who they are musically. It’s also an exceedingly good album.”

2. Soldiers Under Command (1985)

“This is THE quintessential Stryper album. Every song on here is well written, heart felt, and touching. Michael Sweet is one of the best vocalists of our time. Oz Fox is an amazing guitar player. From rockers such as the title track and Makes Me Wanna Sing to ballads like First Love and Together As One, this album has it all. If you don’t own any Stryper albums and want to give them a try, this is one of their best and a great one to start with”

1. To Hell With The Devil (1986)

“EVERY song on this disc is excellent. The band has immaculate musicianship and Michael Sweet has one of glam metal’s greatest voices. I would agree that the drummer is under used on the first half of the record, but in these songs he’s pretty much pounding a catchy beat to what would be rock anthems. It takes a more talented drummer to restrain themselves to a simple beat when needed (e.g. Ringo) and deliver a good solo when appropriate (e.g. John Barbata). Considering I’ve owned this on record, tape, CD and MP3 I have listened to it maybe a thousand times.”