Machine Head Albums Ranked

Machine Head is an American heavy metal band from Oakland, California. The band was formed in 1991 by vocalist/guitarist Robb Flynn and bassist Adam Duce. The band’s aggressive musicianship made it one of the pioneering bands in the new wave of American heavy metal, and it is also considered to be part of the second wave of thrash metal bands from the 1990s. Machine Head’s current lineup comprises Flynn, bassist Jared MacEachern, guitarist Wacław Kiełtyka and drummer Matt Alston. Duce, guitarists Logan Mader, Ahrue Luster, and Phil Demmel, and drummers Tony Costanza, Chris Kontos, and Dave McClain are former members of the band; Mader and Kontos are currently touring with the band as part of the 25th-anniversary tour for its first album, Burn My Eyes (1994). Machine Head has released nine studio albums, two live albums, one video album, 13 singles, and 15 music videos. Four of the band’s studio albums have been certified silver in the United Kingdom, and the band’s highest peak on the Billboard 200 came with Bloodstone & Diamonds at number 21. As of 2013, the band has sold over three million records worldwide. Here are all of Machine Head albums ranked.

Don’t miss out on the TIMELESS Machine Head music below! Click to the experience the power of heavy metal!

9. Supercharger (2001)

“I feel every song here as a stroke of genius, without exception. This showed for the first time what Machine Head were and are capable of. Absolute hammer album, ingenious production, varied songwriting, outstanding vocals, rich playing time anyway.”

8. Catharsis (2018)

“A very divisive release for Machine Head. A sprawling, eclectic, electrifying album that incorporates elements from each previous release. Definite echoes of (the brilliant) The Burning Red, it features some of their best work, Heavy Is The Crown is a masterclass in deliciously creepy atmospherics, an intense and intricate web of razor blade sharp guitar patterns and glinting ride cymbals.”

7. Unto The Locust (2011)

“Everything about “Unto the Locust” is simply flawless. The guitars are crisp, fast, and heavy, Flynn’s vocals are as angry and brutal as ever, but also melodic in all the right places, and McClain brings us the best performance of his career on the drum kit. Bassist Adam Duce graces our ears with his haunting backing vocals on a number of tracks, most notably on “This Is The End,” and Flynn harmonizes his own vocals in a few spots as well, which is a new tactic. Demmel and McClain can be heard a few times here and there, but for the most part they stick to their instruments.”

See more: Alice In Chains Albums Ranked

6. The More Things Change… (1997)

“The More Things Change may not be as famous as any of those albums, but it is a very strong album in any case. The music is very heavy and groove orientated, with only a slightly darker leaning to the riffs and lyrics changing the formula inherited from its predecessor.”

5. Bloodstone & Diamonds (2014)

“Bloodstone & Diamonds” is an absolute metal masterpiece of epic and titanic proportions and is also a crystal clear example of why Machine Head are one of metal’s best and most hardest working bands and they always continue to push the boundaries and expanding their sound with every album without even making the same album twice. This album as a whole is just brutal and beautiful at the same time, also composed, played and produced to absolute perfection, and the bottom line is: It is undoubtedly a true diamond among the rough. Buy this album now!!! HAIL MACHINE HEAD!!!”

4. The Burning Red (1999)

“This is a great combination of the sound Machine Head pursued with their first two albums, along with a change to something that was more current for the time. Was it selling out? Maybe it was, but it still is a very good album. Also I can not fault a band for trying to do something different. Some great songs are included on this album including: Five and the Burning Red. Now the next album after this one is where Machine Head really lost their way and almost imploded as a band.”

See more: Slipknot Albums Ranked

3. Through The Ashes Of Empires (2003)

“” Through the Ashes of Empires is an excellent metal album with some of the best Machine Head songs I’ve heard in years.Imperium starts off the album and kicks you right square in the testicles as it slowly ascends and then goes balls out with old school thrash breakdowns remniscent of old Testament or Slayer. With tracks like “Days turn Blue to Grey” and “All Falls Down” they have shown forward progression with their songwriting as a band and Robert Flynn showcases his excellent clean vocals and shows he can do more than just bark his lyrics.”

2. The Blackening (2007)

“This album is by far in the top 5 of the best albums ever produced. Machine Head said they were aiming to create this generation’s Master of Puppets, and in my opinion they surpassed their goal. Each song has intelligent lyrics which explain their emotions about the world.”

1. Burn My Eyes (1994)

“This album will blow you away. The sound is heavy, brutal, melodic and addictive. The momentum is constant throughout the album. The album is a few minutes shy of an hour and is ten tracks of solid tunes. The track Real Eyes, Realize, Real Lies is a repeated heavy riff with television/radio media coverage and it is inspirational. If you like Pantera, Sepultura, Slayer, Death or Exodus. Give this album a listen. Burn My Eyes does not just hit hard for the sake of it. Its got balls.”