Mr. Big Albums Ranked

Mr. Big is an American hard rock supergroup formed in Los Angeles, California, in 1988. The band was originally composed of Eric Martin (lead vocals), Paul Gilbert (guitar, backing vocals), Billy Sheehan (bass guitar, backing vocals), and Pat Torpey (drums, percussion, backing vocals). They are noted especially for their music and have scored a number of hits. Their songs are often marked by strong vocals and vocal harmonies. Their hits include “To Be with You” (a number-one single in 15 countries in 1992) and “Just Take My Heart”. The band takes its name from a song by Free, which is covered on the 1993 album Bump Ahead. Here are all of Mr. Big Albums Ranked.

Don’t miss out on the music of Mr. Big! Click and enjoy one of the most successful band of the rock era!

7. Hey Man (1996)

“This album is deeply emotional and breaks the barriers of rock music itself and puts you into a whole other world. Indulge yourself in this Mr. Big brilliance! You will not regret it. Every track is pure excellence”

6. …The Stories We Could Tell (2014)

” Eric sounds fantastic and doesn’t seem to have lost any of his energy whatsoever. Paul’s solos are great, with that trademark phrasing and serious attention paid to melody. People really miss out on amazing music when they approach it with a closed mind and a desire to hear the same old thing you’ve heard from bands throughout their career. Embrace a little change and there’s no denying that this is a terrific record. Great job!”

See more: The Hollies Albums Ranked

5. Defying Gravity (2017)

“The biggest surprise of the album, though, is how well the backing vocals stand out, which is something that you really don’t expect or seek out from a band that’s known for its guitar/bass virtuosity, but definitely shows where this band is nearly 30 years past its inception. I have read comments about the production quality of the album, but it’s clear that Gilbert has simplified his guitar signal chain in favor of a more gritty, Marshall overdrive sound, while Sheehan, normally bombastic in his carrying of the bottom end, takes a more straightforward tone while still showing his chops.”

4. Bump Ahead (1993)

“This band is not just a ballad band. Take the opening track on the album, the hard-rocking “Colorado Bulldog”. Catchy, with a prominent bass line done by the great Billy Sheehan, this song kicks. Nearly as impressive is the next track–the uptempo, melodic “Price You Gotta Pay”. The third track is the first ballad–the lovely “Promise Her The Moon”, but that is followed by another mid-tempo rocker, the attitude-laced “What’s It Gonna Be”.

3. Mr. Big (1989)

“If you happened to come across Mr Big’s debut when it was released in 1989, well it sounded rather too “progressive” for a hard rock album. The ballads “Big Love,” “Had enough,” and “anything for you” sounded like the only straightforward, listenable songs. However, songs like “blame it on my youth,” “wind me up” “addicted to that rush,” “take a walk” grow on you like a rock and roll infection and prove this album to be the most original and complex hard rock record since the seminal Van Halen albums of the 1980s.”

See more: America Albums Ranked

2. Lean Into It (1991)

“This is the best that Mr Big recorded. The songs are nearly all great, with several hits among them. The playing is exceptional, as it is on all Mr Big discs, but the strength of the songs sets this one apart. Eric Martin is also one of rock’s most under rated vocalists, his singing really shines here. if you like rock music, pick this one up, it is great and vastly under-appreciated.”

1. What If… (2010)

“What If is the brilliant new album from the original Mr Big lineup that ticks all the essential boxes including virtuoso performances, memorable songs, and a really good vibe and energy from the band. The sound of the album is very live and Eric Martin’s vocals are still as strong as ever. Paul Gilbert, Billy Sheehan, and Pat Torpey are still monster players and they all get to shine throughout these songs.”